Historic Preservation Team Places First in NPS Peterson Prize Competition

The School of Architecture's Historic Preservation Program is pleased to announce that the 2010 and 2011 graphic documentation students won first place in the National Park Service's Charles E. Peterson Prize competition. The team submitted measured drawings of Austin's North-Evans Chateau (1874-1960), now the Chateau Bellevue and home of the Austin Woman's Club, located at 708 San Antonio Street in the Bremond Block National Register Historic District. There were 20 entries from 13 programs in the 2012 competition; UT Austin tied for first with Louisiana State University.

Members of the winning team were 2012 graduates Yuanjing Du, Thomas Garcia, Andreea Hamilton, Rebecca Lapham, Julie McGilvray, and Payal Vora, and second-year students Jessica Anderson, Serena Bolliger, Kalan Contreras, Betsy Frederick-Rothwell, Emily Ray, Samantha Smith, Miriam Tworek-Hofstetter, and Katherine Yester.

With three floors and decades of additions to cover, the team was in the unique position of working on one project over the course of two fall semesters. The 2010 class began work with Lecturer Monica Penick [Ph.D. '07, MSAS '01], documenting two exterior elevations and the majority of the main floor, and the 2011 students edited the previous year's drawings and measured the remaining significant spaces with Associate Professor Carl Matthews. Many of the final drawings included work completed by members of both classes.

"We had an incredible example to follow and to live up to," Bolliger said. "The 2011 students did some of the most intricate CAD work I've ever seen."

Garcia said there was an immense amount of editing needed to standardize the 29 sheets submitted for the prize. "Although it was a case of 'too many cooks in the kitchen,' the project wouldn't have come together any other way due to its size," he said.

The Charles E. Peterson Prize "recognizes the best set of measured drawings prepared to [Historic American Buildings Survey] standards and donated to HABS by students." More than 2,000 students from 68 schools have participated in the competition since its inception.

UT Austin received an honorable mention in the Peterson Prize competition for its work with the Sampson-Nalle House in 2010, and placed in 2001, 2002, and 2003 with sets of drawings for Laguna Gloria, Point Bolivar Lighthouse, and Bastrop State Park. The program won first place in 1998 with the Lee County Courthouse.

This year's award ceremony will hosted by the American Institute of Architects Historic Resources Committee in Washington, D.C., later this fall. The preservation program is raising funds to make it possible for the whole team to attend. If you would like to make a donation to support student travel and participation in the conference, please contact Luke Dunlap, director of development, at luked@austin.utexas.edu or 512.471.6114. Gifts can also be made at the UT online giving page.

The subject of the fall 2012 graphic documentation class, being taught by Lecturer Kim Furlong, is the New Sweden Evangelical Lutheran Church in Manor, Texas.